Media Kit


ABOUT ACER

African Career, Education, and Resources Inc. (ACER) is a nonprofit founded in 2008 and based in the Northwestern Suburbs of Minneapolis. ACER builds community power within African Diaspora and BIPOC communities to advance equity in the areas of health, wealth, housing, and policy. Read more About Us.

 


INITIATIVES
HEALTH EQUITY

The ACER Health Equity Team addresses the health disparities impacting African Immigrant and BIPOC communities in our area.

Currently, ACER is a COVID-19 Community Coordinator (CCC) with the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). The health team provides community vaccination and testing clinics with minimal access barriers, culturally tailored vaccine education, and engagement sessions for communities with high hesitancy.

HOUSING JUSTICE

ACER advances Housing Justice by connecting residents to the vital resources that they need to stay in their homes and building tenant power to advocate for fair housing at all levels of government.

Currently, ACER is building tenant cohorts in several apartment communities to address residents’ concerns, and partnering with community members to push for tenant protection policies at the local and state level.

ECONOMIC & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

ACER advances economic development strategies with governments and community partners in order to generate homegrown wealth and close the wealth gap holding back BIPOC communities.

Currently, ACER is providing free technical assistance for micro-entrepreneurs in partnership with Elevate Business Hennepin County, managing and distributing grants to local businesses, and partnering with local organizations to advocate for policies that support micro-business owners.

CIVIC ENGAGEMENT

ACER is empowering our community members to participate in the affairs of their local, state, and national governments in order to have their voices heard and needs met.

Currently, ACER is partnering with the Jewish Community Action’s Decriminalizing Communities Coalition group to develop strategies that support and protect undocumented individuals as well as organizing a task force of community stakeholders to inform the development of the Brooklyn Center Opportunity Site


CONTACT INFO

Health Equity:


Director of Health Equity

Wynfred Russell | wrussell@acerinc.org | 612-554-0134

Program Manager

Aru Sasikumar | asasikumar@acerinc.org | 612-380-2945

Program Coordinator

Sohini Bag | sbag@acerinc.org  | 314-685-6446

Economic & Community Development:


Director of Economic Development

Denise Butler | dbutler@acerinc.org | 612-217-0282

Business Navigator

Tatyana Nelima | 612-486-2237 | tsikhoya@acerinc.org

Organizing


Organizing Manger

Saolia Tucker | stucker@acerinc.org

Community Organizer

Richard Jennis | rjennis@acerinc.org

Housing Organizer

Fadumo Mohamed | fmohamed@acerinc.org

Executive Director:

Nelima Sitati Munene |nelima@acerinc.org |  763-657-7711

Communications Manager:

Agnes Omwoyo | aomwoyo@acerinc.org | 612-965-2899

STATEMENTS / MEDIA RELEASES: