Media Kit


ABOUT ACER

African Career, Education, and Resource Inc. (ACER) is a nonprofit founded in 2008 and based in the Northwestern Suburbs of Minneapolis. ACER builds community power within African Diaspora and BIPOC communities to advance equity in the areas of health, wealth, housing, and policy. Read more About Us.

 


INITIATIVES
HEALTH EQUITY

The ACER Health Equity Team addresses the health disparities impacting African Immigrant and BIPOC communities in our area.

Currently, ACER is a COVID-19 Community Coordinator (CCC) with the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH). The health team provides community vaccination and testing clinics with minimal access barriers, culturally tailored vaccine education, and engagement sessions for communities with high hesitancy.

HOUSING JUSTICE

ACER advances Housing Justice by connecting residents to the vital resources that they need to stay in their homes and building tenant power to advocate for fair housing at all levels of government.

Currently, ACER is assisting tenants with their RentHelpMN applications, building tenant cohorts in several apartment communities to address residents’ concerns, and partnering with community members to push for a Tenant Protection Ordinance in Brooklyn Park

ECONOMIC & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

ACER advances economic development strategies with governments and community partners in order to generate homegrown wealth and close the wealth gap holding back BIPOC communities.

Currently, ACER is providing free technical assistance for micro-entrepreneurs in partnership with Elevate Business Hennepin County, managing and distributing grants to local businesses, and partnering with the Center of Urban and Regional Affairs (CURA) to research the needs of BIPOC business owners.

CIVIC ENGAGEMENT

ACER is empowering our community members to participate in the affairs of their local, state, and national governments in order to have their voices heard and needs met.

Currently, ACER is partnering with the Jewish Community Action’s Decriminalizing Communities Coalition group to develop strategies that support and protect undocumented individuals as well as organizing a task force of community stakeholders to inform the development of the Brooklyn Center Opportunity Site


CONTACT INFO

Executive Director: Nelima Sitati Munene |nelima@acerinc.org |  763-657-7711

Communications Manager: Agnes Omwoyo | aomwoyo@acerinc.org | 612-965-2899

Health Equity:

Wynfred Russell | Director of Health Equity | wrussell@acerinc.org | 612-554-0134

Aru Sasikumar | Program Manager – Health Equity | asasikumar@acerinc.org | 612-380-2945

Sohini Bag | Program Coordinator – Health Equity | sbag@acerinc.org  | 314-685-6446

Economic & Community Engagement: 

Denise Butler | Director of Economic Development | dbutler@acerinc.org | 612-217-0282

Tatyana Nelima | Business Navigator | 612-486-2237 | tsikhoya@acerinc.org

Civic Engagement: 

Richard Jennis |Community Organizer | rjennis@acerinc.org

 

Housing Justice:

Fadumo Mohamed | fmohamed@acerinc.org


Logos

STATEMENTS / MEDIA RELEASES:

OCTOBER NEWSLETTER

Statement

Re: Georgetown Towing Protest